Our Score

9

, , ,  

Deus Ex: Human Revolution Review

October 10, 2011

It’s finally here, eleven years later, Deus Ex: Human Revolution has come and ye shall not be disappointed.  In an age where reboots of reboots of reboots are common I must say that I was skeptical and with the recent failure which was Duke Nukem I was more than a little concerned with this game being a complete flop.  I’m very happy to say that this was not the case. 

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a great game but it does have a couple of things that hold it back from being perfect one.  There aren’t many things that Deus Ex: HR does wrong but if I were to pick the biggest one I would say it would have to be the fact that it feels like it forces you to play the game in a certain way.   For example, you get almost three times as much experience playing the game via stealth instead of running and gunning.  This isn’t a deal breaker by any means but I prefer to play using a run and gun style and I felt I almost had to play it in a stealthy manner (think splinter cell) otherwise I wouldn’t get to experience near as many of the unlocks the game has to offer if I didn’t play the game in a stealthy way.  There is also the issue of the cutscenes, I love cutscenes, but when they don’t look as good as the game itself it kind of takes away from the immersion.  I’ve always been of the opinion that if you are going to do cutscenes use live action cutscenes or use an amped up version of the game engine to render them. 

Graphically the game shines, especially if you have the PC version with DX11 turned on.  Many of the computer control rooms look simply stunning, especially rooms like David Sarifs office.  They simply look stunning.  The game takes you all over the world and each of these locals looks vibrant and different.  Each one feels unique and fresh and if I had any complaint I wish it would have taken you to some others.  There were a couple of places where it felt like they just wanted to get whatever they were doing over with.  Near the end of the game, one of the backdrops looks almost like a piece of paper with paper birds.  I felt like they could of spent a few more minutes and taken it from ok to amazing.  Backdrops can add a massive wow factor to a game and can really take it to the next level. 

The game sounds amazing and it’s oozing with it.  Humming of electronics and grinding of gears, people talking in the street, preacher talking to their crowds, city sounds, and the list goes on Deus Ex sounds spectacular.   

There is plenty of betrayal, love, hate, bitterness, revenge and happiness to go around in DX:HR.  The plot in DX: HR centers on Adam Jensen follows your choices just like the previous titles, decisions you make, people you kill or people you don’t kill all add to the ending of the game.  The story from beginning to end, no matter how you play, is enthralling and enjoyable.  I’ve found myself lately with a lot of games unable to finish them, and these were easily ¼ the length of DX: HR and I can honestly say that I couldn’t put this game down.  I enjoyed it from beginning to end and I was sad to see it end.    

Despite its small flaws Deus Ex: Human Revolution is an amazing game, one that deserves to be played and multiple times at that.  The stealth style of gameplay may scare some people away, it almost did me, but I am glad that I decided to play it anyway.  If you have been on the fence about picking this game up let this be the final push you need to get it. 

httpvh://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OA_-mhoksL8

httpvh://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNEFl2EI2eU

Deus Ex

[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-02_00001.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-02_00002.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-02_00003.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-02_00004.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-02_00005.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-02_00006.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-02_00007.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-08_00001.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-08_00002.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-08_00003.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-08_00004.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-08_00005.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-08_00006.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-08_00007.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-08_00008.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-09_00001.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-09_00002.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-09_00003.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-09_00004.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-09_00005.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-09_00006.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-10_00001.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-10_00002.jpg]
[img src=http://www.thegamersblog.com/wp-content/flagallery/deus-ex/thumbs/thumbs_2011-10-10_00003.jpg]

2 comments

  1. JJP - January 23, 2012 12:21 pm

    Im a DX fan, been playing much DX1 and DX II.
    I got high expectations on this release,so in my opinion Game is allright but something left missing,i dont find so much to praise of this game, this could have been alot better, its because the storyline, elements are right but they arent tied to together right, and somehow in end meters story flops, if im using the worst expression.

    I didnt expect that this game would bring some great graphics or stunning effects, they doesnt make so much cost on me, well graphics are very nice, but what i really expected (i was sceptical before the release) a mind blowing story, its like youre reading best of Tomclancy or Remes.
    Yeah the story starts very fascinating but narrative fails in middle area of the game, seems like its been hurried up to the finishing, also the hiding starts to frustrate in some point, least the second time youre playing, so you wanna go soon in to the darkside..So along these great graphics, good playability, if the story would been wrote better ,which i think its one of the important elements of DX games, this would have been one of the noticeable games for a long time.

    As a conclusion:
    DXHR is nice game thought, mix of metal gear action and some conspiracy,flavored with good graphics,still game managed to hook me only for a one and half times to play.Elements are right but couldnt amaze me.

    Reply
  2. ScrotusKilmystr - October 13, 2011 2:49 pm

    I’ve ben following this game since it’s announcement and have been truly excited about it but have yet to take the leap mostly due to backlop of rpg, long play titles I have looking at me with sad eyes… but I might have to break down and buy it and shun some other titles for a play thourgh…. great review!

    Reply

Have your say

Archives - Powered by WordPress - A theme by cssigniter.com